Isle of Anglesey County Council	
Committee:	County Council
Date:	18 October 2016
Title of Report:	2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies – Initial Proposals by the Boundary Commission for Wales
Report by:	Head of Democratic Services
Purpose of Report:	Consultation.
Action:	To respond to the consultation.

#### 1. Introduction

On 24 March 2016, the Boundary Commission for Wales announced the start of the 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 as amended by the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011. The Commission published its Initial Proposals Report on 13 September, requesting comments on the initial proposals by 5 December 2016.

# 2. Summary of proposals - Wales

The new legislation has reduced the number of Parliamentary constituencies in Wales from 40 to 29.

No existing constituency would remain unchanged under the initial proposals. For many areas the proposed changes are considerable.

Ynys Môn would be one of 16 existing constituencies wholly contained within new constituencies.

Ynys Môn is one of seven principal councils in Wales which fall below the maximum of the statutory electorate range and which therefore could be included wholly within a new constituency.

Of the 881 electoral wards in Wales, 880 would be wholly contained within new constituencies.

## 3. Summary of proposals - Anglesey

It is proposed that a county constituency is created from:

The whole of the existing **Ynys Môn** CC consisting of the County of The Isle of Anglesey electoral wards of Aethwy (4,906), Bro Aberffraw (2,882), Bro Rhosyr (3,626), Caergybi (6,146), Canolbarth Môn (4,874), Llifon (3,963), Lligwy (4,621), Seiriol (4,407), Talybolion (4,430), Twrcelyn (5,229) and Ynys Gybi (4,203); and,

The electoral wards within the existing **Arfon** CC and County of Gwynedd of Arllechwedd (971), Bethel (1,020), Cadnant (1,438), Cwm-y-Glo (710), Deiniol (496), Deiniolen (1,263), Dewi (1,098), Garth (420), Gerlan (1,559), Glyder (1,139), Hendre (835), Hirael (881), Llanrug (1,289), Marchog (1,446), Menai (Bangor) (839), Menai (Caernarfon) (1,671), Ogwen (1,556), Peblig (Caernarfon) (1,344), Penisarwaun (1,293), Pentir (1,636), Seiont (2,079), Tregarth & Mynydd Llandygai (1,531) and Y Felinheli (1,624).

This constituency would have 77,425 electors which is 3.6% above the UKEQ of 74,769 electors per constituency.

The report notes that the Isle of Anglesey alone cannot meet the statutory requirements in respect of size of electorate.

Several options were considered but it was felt that, due to the number of additional electors required and the requirement for the Commission to take into account local government boundaries, the constituency should encompass the wards surrounding Bangor and including the Town of Caernarfon and those wards immediately to the east of Caernarfon. In this way the constituency to the south of Anglesey falls entirely within the County of Gwynedd.

An alternative would be to include electoral wards to the north of Bangor but, particularly given the geographic size of 'Gogledd Clwyd a Gwynedd' and the electorate of 'Colwyn and Conwy', it was considered that this would involve adverse effects on the surrounding constituencies which would be less desirable.

### 4. Constituency Name

The suggested name for the constituency is **Ynys Môn ac Arfon** and the suggested alternative name is **Isle of Anglesey and Arfon**.

As the existing constituency of Ynys Môn is included wholly within the constituency, the Commission utilised that name first in the proposed constituency name. Several options for an additional name were considered and, due to the proportion of the existing Arfon constituency covered by the new constituency – approximately 75% of the electorate – Arfon was considered the most appropriate name.

For information, at its meeting on 6 March 2012, the County Council considered other previous initial proposals for the review of parliamentary constituencies by the Boundary Commission for Wales. The suggested name for the constituency was 'Menai ac Ynys Môn'. At that meeting, the Council resolved:

"to suggest to the Boundary Commission for Wales that the name of the proposed Parliamentary Constituency be known as Môn and Menai".

### 5. Issues to consider

The Council is requested to bear in mind the following issues when considering its response to the consultation:

- The historic context of parliamentary representation and need to safeguard the unique identity of the island and its natural administrative boundaries
- Extending the constituency boundaries will weaken local accountability and the status of the island.
- Under initial proposals for England, two of the 501 constituencies allocated to England are reserved for the Isle of Wight - the 2011 Act states that the Isle of Wight must have two constituencies (currently one constituency). Two island constituencies in Scotland are also protected under the Act - Orkney and Shetland and Na h-Eileanan.
- The initial proposals were considered by the Group Leaders on 22 September 2016 and the view was that they should not be supported.

#### 6. Recommendations

The County Council is requested to:

- comment on the proposal to create the new parliamentary constituency and its suggested name, ie **Ynys Môn ac Arfon** and **Isle of Anglesey and Arfon**
- authorise the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leader, to prepare a response on behalf of the Council to the Boundary Commission for Wales by 5 December 2016.

Link to the Initial Proposals Report:

http://comffin-cymru.gov.uk/2018-review/initial\_proposals?lang=en